Rising Strong

Art courtesy of Cloudinfluence on Deviant Art

Art courtesy of Cloudinfluence on Deviant Art

Who is your favorite literary character? With which literary character do you most relate? Which literary character would you most like to invite for tea/coffee? What would you ask him/her? What do you think you could teach him/her?

I struggled a bit with this topic because my mind doesn’t typically remember details very well, especially when it comes to fiction reading I’ve done. My favorite book is Les Miserable, and I thought the characters were powerful and moving. I could relate well to Jean Valjean, and was inspired by his character in the book. I love flawed humans and their path to goodness.  Here was a man, desperate to survive in harsh times, and is given an incredibly harsh sentence for a trivial crime. Instead of losing faith in society and people, he rises above the negativity and builds a fortune based on empathy and compassion for those with less than he.

Over tea, or a cocktail, I would love to chat about the business empire, how to change your identity on the fly, and thoughts on criminal justice reform.  I think I could learn a lot from him, and I could probably teach him how to use an i-phone and drive a car. Ha.

 

One thought on “Rising Strong

Leave a Reply

