Sweating to the Options

Sweating to the

I found it bizarre, recently, when I published my goal of taking 100 hikes by August 1 and the instant I did so, I lost total interest in hiking. I am pretty introspective, and I’ve been exploring what that may be all about, and I came up with all kinds of answers, but my incredible Life Coach, Linda Frazee, lit the path to the right answer. Options. That’s all it came down to.

As a number 7 on the Enneagram, I appreciate options. And, as it turns out, I don’t like to take orders from anyone, including myself, even if it’s self-destructive. I suppose, on some level, I already knew I was resistant to taking orders, but as I set goals for myself all the time, this abrupt halt in activity for something that I loved to do anyway, caught me by surprise. To “fix” it, Linda suggested I open it up to more options. It’s not so much about the hike as it is about staying active, healthy, and connecting with nature. There are a lot of ways to do that, so I just had to adjust the goal to include other activities as well. That seemed too simple, but has proved to be accurate.

Just being aware of my resistance played a key role in advancing, of course. And then, by simply telling myself I was free to do other activities too, my mindset completely changed. In fact, I’m on my way to my first hike in months with my good friend, Scott. My attitude has completely shifted back to joy around hiking, and I’m looking forward to it again. I’ve still kept the goal of 100 hikes by August 1, and I’ve even added a new goal of 100 push-ups per day in hopes I can get back into decent shape before I hit the gym again. Sounds a little ridiculous to have to get into shape before I feel good about going to the gym again. I feel like my grandmother who used to clean up before the maid would come.

What I’ve learned is to never just quit, even if you stop for a bit. Introspect and learn from what is going on inside you, and do that without judgement or harsh criticism. And, don’t be afraid to ask for help or guidance from a trusted source.

 

One thought on “Sweating to the Options

  1. Bill, you mentioned that the key is introspection and becoming aware of who you are. I couldn’t agree with you more. When you “get it” you become liberated and learn how to work with yourself instead of against yourself. It makes all the difference in the world. Right on! Great lesson that I can apply to my life – today. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

