The Daily Guru

www.HabitDaddy.com

“You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” For years, I had resisted this insight from Jim Rohn. I was quite sure I’d be different-the exception to the rule. If there was one piece of advice I would give the 18 year old version of myself (besides invest EVERYTHING) it would be to realize that no one is the exception. Not for this, not for anything. Eventually, you get your turn.

 

I struggled with how to work with this philosophy without alienating people that are important to me, and while also balancing the intricacies of my introverted personality. Here’s what I came up with, and it seems to be working.

First, there’s no rule that says the five people you spend the most time with have to be live and in person.  I was clear on the areas in sales, networking, business development, spiritual growth, fitness, and health I wanted to grow in, so I researched “gurus” I resonated with in all categories.

Second, since we’re using the law of averages, why not increase our odds? Instead of using just five people, I actually use between 7 & 14 of these gurus in my daily practice.

Every day, especially the morning, I listen to a YouTube video or recorded teleconference with my designated “Daily Guru.” I do that 7 days a week. Remember, good habits don’t get weekends! I also schedule a guru for the afternoon or evening, which is a little harder to stay with, simply because the work day and happy hour happens. But, that’s what I strive for, anyway. Aim for the stars, and you might just hit the moon. And, it’s totally okay to repeat the same guru on some days. I find that I am constantly switching mine out, depending on what I have going on in my life. If I am speaking in public and need some pointers, I research that. If I’m having relationship issues, I look into that. Whatever it is, someone out there has information to help.

So, now, every week, I am bombarded with relevant and effective information and strategies that help me in my life NOW. Sometimes I walk away with a page full of notes, and sometimes I walk away with just one word that changes everything. And to me, that makes it all worth while.

Good Habits Don't Get Weekends Off

Leave a Reply

