Turn Your Car Into College

Teachingis thegreatest actof optimism.

What if I told you that you could could get the equivalent of a college education simply by turning your radio off in your car each day, and instead listening to an audio-book?

The average American spends 50 minutes commuting back and forth to work 5 days a week, 50 weeks per year.  That’s 12,500 hours per year in your car or on public transportation! If each book took 8 hours to listen to, you’d have heard nearly 1600 books a year!

I know many people struggle with the idea of giving up their music, and I totally understand. I was the same way too. Music pumped me up and got me ready for the day. For those people, relax. Music and total quiet time have their place as well. This isn’t an all or nothing plan. You don’t HAVE to listen to books the entire 12,500 hours of your annual commute time. Imagine what could happen if you simply switched from music to books for even half that time.

For me, I’m on the road a LOT. I average 3,000 miles a MONTH as a mobile notary, travel agent, and serial entrepreneur (plus avid road tripper). I’ve always been a reader anyway, and for many reasons, I totally resisted audio-books. I enjoyed music to stimulate my senses, and my driving time was almost like meditation. I actually enjoyed the quite and did some of my best thinking behind the wheel. But still, after reading over and over again about the benefits of turning my car-time into an Auto-University, I did it. And, I’ll tell you what, I’ll never go back!

Since starting Car-niversity in February, I have listened to 8 books (I choose the longer, more expensive books on audible and use my credit for maximum value). These books have been powerful and have literally altered the course and focus of my life. If I dodn’t listen to them in the car, there is a very good chance I would not have ever had the chance to read them. I already have well over 100 books on my list “to read” and with all the new material being written, many of these “classics” would have been pushed to the bottom because of their length and depth of material.

Here’s my challenge to you; Try out this Auto-University concept for 30 days. Choose a non-fiction book about something you’d like to work on in your life-money, love, networking, growing a business, starting a business, writing a blog or book, social media marketing, learning a language, traveling, working out-whatever! Just try it for a month and see what happens. I guarantee you’ll notice a difference in how you feel about yourself, your life, and the people you share it with.

Need some ideas on books to listen to? Here’s a few that I have read and want to read:

Listened:

The Success Principles by Jack Canfield– I’ve been resisting Jack Canfield my whole life because I thought he was too cheesy. This book has proved me wrong and has sparked a whole Canfield kick. This guy knows his stuff!

The Fred Factor by Mark Sanborn– Very cool philosophy of service sparked by the story of a Denver postman named, Fred. Great story with tips on going above and beyond for your customers, employees, and employers, regardless of the job you have.

Never Eat Alone by Keith Ferrazi– Incredible networking tips!

Emotional Intelligence by Daniel Goleman– This should be a required read for junior high. It’s all about knowing yourself and the impact you have on others, even when you think you’re not impacting others.

Want to Listen:

Daring Greatly by Brene Brown

The 10X Rule

Reclaim Your Brain

The Go-Giver

Intentional Living

The Compound Effect

You are a Badass

 

One thought on “Turn Your Car Into College

Leave a Reply

